A Short Introduction to the Site
The museum's earlier history is quite colorful, being situated in the heart of Ovando. In 1897 it was a saloon owned by Henry Dixon and Charlie Young who called it the "Bucket of Blood". From them it passed onto the Barbie's hands and renamed the "Double Diamond". Bud Beard claimed it next in the 1930's calling it the Brand Bar Saloon; where in its original location currently is the Brand Bar Museum. In the 1950's the Brand Bar became Trixi's until it was relocated to Highway 200, its present location, to allow for more room.
Full Description of the Historical Site or Museum
The museum today houses memorabilia of Old Ovando. It is a collection of local history and unique antiques. Run by the Ovando Historical Society, it came about by the hard efforts of Marie McNally, and opened in 1992. It is a unique addition to the town of Ovando, and it continues to expand today. Currently the Historical Society is pushing through efforts to save and, if necessary, relocate other old buildings in the area that have begun to fall to ruin.
The Historical Society is also working on an oral history of the area, targeting the old schools built in the late 1800's to early 1900's. Interviewing students and teachers of the era and then converting them into written form, the historical society has an ever increasing volume of those that lived here and how they lived here. In most cases, the stories themselves are lively entertainment.
Open MonthsYear Round
Hours OpenKey available from Blackfoot Inn
Driving Directions from Nearest Town or Landmark
Located in downtown Ovando, Montana off Hwy 200,