A Short Introduction to the Site
Upper Swan Valley Historical Society Museum celebrates the history of the wild and beautiful Swan Valley. The Swan Valley was one of the last places in the nation to be homesteaded. It was opened for homesteading in 1906 with 200 claims. Check out many unique and well thought out exhibits focusing on the area's logging and mountain living. There are several restored community buildings including the original 1940's Liquid Louie's Bar.
This volunteer run museum is free to the public and is a terrific stop off of HWY 83 on your way to Glacier National Park.
Full Description of the Historical Site or Museum
The Upper Swan Valley Historical Society (USVHS), established in 1988, is dedicated to the discovery, collection, preservation and interpretation of materials that will help establish and illustrate our local history.
The upper Swan Valley area is unique in that it still retains a plethora of evidence of its varied history. There still exist old Indian trails crisscrossing our mountains. Old trapper cabins and marten notched trees are still around on the landscape. This area was homesteaded and settled at a relatively late date, primarily from the mid-1910's and later, with many artifacts and buildings of that particular era still in existence. Early Forest Service ranger station buildings and cabins are still here. Springboard notched trees and sawmill sites from the early logging days are scattered around the valley.
Open MonthsMemorial Day Weekend to Labor Day
Hours OpenThursday through Sunday Noon to 4 PM *Or by appointment Call (406) 754-2745 or (406) 754-2238
Driving Directions from Nearest Town or Landmark
6774 Highway 83 North, Mile Marker 42, Condon, MT 59826
Approximately 25 minutes north of Seeley Lake on HWY 83